Thursday, April 7, 2016

Knight Writers Win UNO Competition

Mount Michael's journalism team came away with the top award (Sweepstakes) in class B  at the University of Nebraska Omaha High School Competition.
Leo McGrath, Matt Dugick, Patrick Halpin, Cade Johnson, Michael Ecker, Joe Budd, Homer Xu

Class B Sweepstakes (Schools under 1000 students) - Total combined points from all Catagories
1) Mount Michael Benedictine
2) Marian High School
3) Fremont High School

Other Awards:
Best newspaper overall-Second Place

Writing Categories:
Column Writing - Joe Budd-First Place
Entertainment Writing – Leo McGrath-First Place, 
Jackson Thompson – Second Place
News Writing- Joey Recker-First Place
Sports Story-Michael Ecker-Third Place

Layout Categories:
Two Page Layout(Newspaper)-Matt Dugick-First Place
Pat Halpin-Second Place

Visual Categories:
Sports/Action Photography- Homer Xu – First Place

News/Feature Photography-Cade Johnson – Second Place