Thursday, April 30, 2015

School Year Accomplishments and Honors

Athletic Director Jon Borer with "Athlete of the Year"
 award winner Jake Batenhorst
The 1st major award at the 2015 Awards Night was the presentation of the Athlete of the Year to Jake Batenhorst.  In his years at Mount Michael Jake served as the Knight’s quarterback in football and was also a starter for the Knights in basketball and baseball.

12 Season Athletes: The following seniors were recognized for having participated in athletics every season during their years at the Mount:
         Jake Batenhorst, Harrison Hohman, Logan Kalkowski, Caleb Pflug, Garrett Raabe, Mick Steier

HOBY Youth Leadership Award: Cade Johnson

Omaha Exchange Club Sophomore of the Year: Joe Coldiron

Cornhusker Boys State:  Michael Fischer and Jack Morrisey

The President’s Award for Educational Excellence: This is an honorary award presented to seniors who meet the following criteria:  they must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better and tests at the 85th percentile or above on either the ACT (which is a 28) or the SAT (which is a 1900).
Mount Michael Award recipient Logan Kalkowski with
Head of School Dr. David Peters
These students must demonstrate high motivation, initiative, integrity, intellectual depth, leadership qualities, judgement, involvement in community service, extra-curricular activities.  Ryan Anderson, Cameron Bretsen, David Whee-Young Choi, Jonathan Collins, Marcus Cronin, Augustin  deMayo, Andrew Ernst, Zachary Frevert, John Gutsmiedl, Harrison Hohman, Alex Hotovy, Dujin Lee, Ashton Legenza, Dun Fletcher Lin, Jared Mikuls, Andrew Pace, Young-Joon Park, Zachrey  Starman, Eric Sullivan, Lucas Tucker, Andrew Whitaker, Thomas Wooten.

The night culminated in the Mount Michael award.  The Mount Michael Award goes to the student who most epitomizes the values of Mount Michael.  The selection is made by secret ballot by the Mount Michael faculty. Logan Kalkowski is this year’s recipient.

Congratulations to these young men and all of the other outstanding students whose accomplishments were acknowledged at the Mount Michael Awards Night.