Friday, May 2, 2014

Knights Receive Honors at SAME Competition

Under the guidance of instructor Marilyn Theis and engineering advisors from local business,  The Knights' drafting students year long projects won numerous medals at the Annual Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) competition. There were a total of 18 teams from Bennington, Prep, Gross, Millard West, Mount Michael, Central, North, Papillion-La Vista, Papillion-La Vista South, Skutt, and Westside.

Junior Team 3 Medals
 Two silver medals in applied sciences & innovation and a gold medal for research.

The Junior Project involved working  with the Henry Doorly Zoo to help design/plan a future project they have for a Conservation Academy that would have a 9-12 high school and a Pre-K and Kindergarten classes as well.  The purpose of the facility would be to educated those attending the zoo, the Omaha area community and the next generation in conserving our natural resources.

The Junior Team consisted of Reed Tiwald, Luke Tucker, Cameron Bretsen, Jake Batenhorst, Eric Sullivan, Logan Kalkowski, Andy Ernst, Fred Guernsey, Ashton Legenza, Zach McBride, Elliott Fay, Chris Riddle, and Oliver Jarosik.

Senior Team 6 Medals & Award of Distinction
Four silver medals for applied sciences, technology, sustainability, proposal.  Two gold medals for team work and presentation. The Award of Distinction included a $500 prize which will be used for upgrades to the Mount Michael drafting program. Only five Awards of Distinction were given at the competition.

The senior project was with HETRA Heartland Equine Therapy Riding Aacdemy.  They work with handicapped children and adults by using horse back riding and carriage driving improving their quality of life.  HETRA currently works out of 2 rented facilities.  The Team found a new site and designed a new larger facility that would combine the two current facilities.

The Senior Team consisted of Ben Connealy, Austin Ramaeker, Andrew Carpenter, Chris Bierman, Elijah Buckhold, Rowan Gruber, Garrison Emsick, John Mikulicz, Dan Pavlik, and Giffin Willer.